Posted in Book reviews, Books, Litfuse

Litfuse Review: A Sensible Arrangement by Tracie Peterson

Title: A Sensible Arrangement
Series: Lone Star Brides #1
Author: Tracie Peterson
Type: Fiction; romance, historical, southern
Pages: 325
Source: Litfuse Publicity Group http://litfusegroup.com/
My Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5 stars.

Description of Book:

Marty Dandridge Olson is ready to leave behind the pain of the past.
Answering an advertisement for a “Lone Star bride,” she leaves her Texas ranch and heads to Denver to marry a man she doesn’t know.
Jake Wythe is the man waiting for her. Burned by love, he marries now simply to satisfy the board of Morgan Bank, which believes a man of his standing in society should be wed. Together Jake and Marty agree they are done with romance and love and will make this nothing more than a marriage of convenience. When missing money and a collapsing economy threaten his job, Jake’s yearning to return to ranching grows ever stronger, much to Marty’s dismay. But a fondness has grown between them, as well, further complicating matters.
What will happen when their relationship shifts in unexpected ways . . . and dreams and secrets collide?

Purchase a copy: http://ow.ly/vlp1S

My Review:

By the time I started this book, I was a bit wearied by romance books, to be honest. They all (well, almost) go the same way, have the same perfect ending, etc. And though that is good and what you usually look for in a book, I kinda had my fill of romances =P BUT I was actually surprised as I got into this book. I liked it. It wasn’t exactly your typical romance. In fact, there wasn’t really much romance at all till the end.
It was a good book. The plot never seemed to be dry, or dragging – it didn’t give off any impression of writer’s block or fillers (you know, where you have to come up with something to get to another more exciting part), which I was impressed with.
Sometimes it got frustrating – like, “Why can’t they just talk to each other?! They’d find the same answers!” or “Stop, Marty, no more lies!” but really, it all worked together.
I liked that you could clearly picture the story, as if it was actually unfolding before your eyes. Or at least, I could. It was descriptive, without being boring.
I was glad that it didn’t end how I thought it would (won’t give away any spoilers, don’t worry), but there were some ‘loose-ends’ I thought. I’m not sure if we’re supposed to just imagine the rest, or if there will be a sequel continuing the story. I know that this is the first book in a series, but I’m not sure if that next book will continue with this story or be a totally different story. Guess we’ll just have to wait and find out. :)
I was very happy that God was quite a lot involved. That is definitely a good thing. Though I did feel like some of it was a bit ‘rushed into’. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, so I won’t go on with that.

All in all, it was a good read. All in all, it was a good read. I found it to be rather a ‘typical read’, one that was good, but didn’t necessarily stand out to me.
I don’t know that I’d necessarily read it again, simply because it’s not exactly my type of book, but I was glad to read a book of Tracie Peterson’s (as I have never done so before), and would be interested in reading more from her.

About Author:

About the Author: Tracie Peterson is the award-winning author of over eighty novels, both historical and contemporary. Her avid research resonates in her stories, as seen in her bestselling Heirs of Montana, and Alaskan Quest series. Tracie and her family make their home in Montana.
Learn more about Tracie at: http://www.traciepeterson.com

Win & RSVP!
Tracie Peterson A Sensible Arrangement

Disclaimer: I received “A Sensible Arrangement” from the Litfuse Publicity Group for my honest and unbiased review. I was not paid to read or review this book, and all thoughts are completely my own.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

