Posted in Book reviews, Litfuse

Litfuse Review: “Mom Seeks God” by Julie Roller — Sort of a Guest Post

My Mum has read and reviewed the book featured today, and because I have the Litfuse account, I am posting it here. You can visit my mamma’s blog here: http://homesteadingmumofthree.wordpress.com/

Title: Mom Seeks God
Author: Julie Roller
Type: Non-fiction
Source: Litfuse

Book Description:

About the book: The first months and years of motherhood can be the most challenging and disorienting of your life—and faith. When you’re surrounded by the happy chaos of children, how do you spend quiet time with God if the only quiet time you get is while you sleep? How can you demonstrate a solid spiritual life to your children if you don’t have time to pursue one yourself?

When Julia Roller discovered that her spiritual growth had been stunted by the busyness of life with her toddler, she embarked on a yearlong journey through ten spiritual disciplines: prayer, fellowship, submission, study, simplicity, silence, worship, fasting, service, and celebration. As she focused on each discipline, she discovered practical ways to observe them—even in the chaos of her every day.

Purchase a copy and find out more about Julia at: http://www.juliaroller.com

Mum’s Review:

I requested this book, knowing it was for young moms (I’m not a young mommy anymore…) because my oldest daughter is a young mom and I thought this might be something that would help her. It is very hard to juggle new marriage, new mom (especially when you have two under the age of two), house and home, and still find time alone with Y’weh. I know my daughter has struggled with that – how can you not? When every waking moment is spent with little ones, and the house still needs cleaning, the dinners and lunches need to be made and one should at least make some effort to talk with the hubby…. it leaves little alone time with our Father. And yet, we all know that without our connection to the Vine, we die. My hopes were that this book would encourage, be something she, as well as all moms could relate to and also be helpful.

The author most definitely shared her life with the reader. There were many moments that you could totally relate to and laugh along with her. She was so honest, that I wondered if it bordered on ‘throwing your pearls before swine’. But I really did appreciate her honesty and transparency for most of it. I’m sure it was probably hard to share so much of her struggles, hopes and defeats with the world, as she did. She acknowledged that she could not do motherhood without God, which is 100% true. I was sad that she did get a bit caught up in the worldly view of motherhood – that we must have constant outside reinforcement in the form of mommy groups or early childhood programs. I just never believed that one should turn only to worldly mom’s for our encouragement and mentoring. Even “Christian” mom programs fall desperately short. Biblically, the older women are to encourage, teach and instruct the younger…. not a group of peers that have little to no experience, either. Sadly there isn’t much of that today. Not a lot of older mom’s to help mentor. But our first ‘go-to’ must-must-must be Y’weh. Who can and will fill us with the truths, with the rest, with the rejuvenation we need. But again, when you are young mom, that doesn’t always happen, and I do get that. But the author even goes a bit into how stressful these mom peers can be. With all the “you use those diapers????” and “you really should use/do/eat/think (etc.) this”. We all have our own way of doing things, and telling others they are doing it wrong only creates enemies.

The author referred a lot to other authors and their work – especially about praying (how to). I’m not familiar with the books she referred to, so I will not comment on that aspect of it. I have my thoughts, but again, until I’ve read and researched something and prayed about it, I will not give my thoughts.

The author wrote from her heart and I appreciated that. She spoke of many things that would be helpful to young moms. She spoke about submission to many things in our life, most importantly to God, which of course is key. There were things that I didn’t agree with, and things that I did. But I think most important is for a young mom to seek Christ first and foremost and to make time – have hubby help, find a local church and find a mentor type older woman to help or whatever it takes, but we have to abide in Christ.

My last thought to leave is this: we as ‘Christians’ tend to follow. We do what the church tells us and rarely do we question. We do what society says to do and rarely do we question. Lately, I’ve started to question. I’ve begun to research. I’ve learned quite a bit of shocking information. I am sad that for so many years, I’ve just allowed myself to trust the ‘church’ and be led. Thankfully, Yeshua has gotten ahold of me. He has begun to show us His truths. And they don’t include man’s traditions or rituals. We need to take a good long look at our traditions – are they Biblical? Did Yeshua – Jesus Christ – do them? Does Y’weh – God – allow them? Check out information on the Sabbath, on our typical favorite ‘holiday’s’ (which are not the Holydays). Research, ask God to show you His truths, to open your hearts to the truth of His ways and not man’s ways. You might be surprised to find that there is a remnant, but it’s not at all what you think it is (the church).

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of “Mom Seeks God” from Litfuse Publicity Group (http://litfusegroup.com/) in return for my honest and unbiased review, which I have given. I am under no obligation to read, review, or give a positive review of this books. All thoughts are my own opinion.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

