Posted in God's Lessons, My Abba Father

A different kind of ‘thank you’

We’re instructed to thank God in all things. And usually when we are thankful, we’re happy or joyful. Thanking God then is not so hard. But I’m sure we realise that we are to thank God in the hard times as well. That is rather difficult to master, and remember sometimes. When we’re going through trials, it is hard to say “Thank you, Lord” because we don’t necessarily feel thankful. But then, we’re not asked to be thankful only for the hard things, but we’re asked to be thankful in the hard things. Maybe not ‘for’, but definitely ‘in’.
But now I bring to you another kind of ‘thank-you’, and perhaps you’ve experienced this before, for I did not just ‘come up with it’ (haha, no. “There is nothing new under the sun” ;)) This kind of thank-you God showed me last night.
A Sorrowful Thank You.
A heart full of sorrow can still be a thanks-giving to God, for we still trust in Him through our sorrow. We may not understand, but we trust. I read once, somewhere, that David in the Bible often had one foot in peace, and the other foot in sorrow. He balanced the two. He started out many of his Psalms questioning, doubting and telling God about his sorrow, but always, the psalm ended with David still trusting in His Lord.
God not only accepts, but cherishes, a sorrowful thank-you. A Thank You born out of sorrow. A Thank You born in sorrow.
God is our Abba Father. He so wants us to come to Him with everything and in everything. Not run from Him. Sometimes, when we become angry with Him, we withdraw and try to run and hide from Him. But “where can I go that You are not there? Where can I hide from You? If I make my bed in hell, you are there, if I flee to the mountains, You are there…” etc. And He wants us to tell Him what we’re going through. He can handle our anger. He doesn’t get angry back at us when we tell Him our anger. He just doesn’t. That is awe-ing.
I am going through a trial right now. A tribulation, if you will. And it’s a physical trial and it hurts. literally hurts. I know I am where I am at though, because God has me here. And I’ll move when He tells me to move. For right now though, and especially last evening, all I could offer Him was a sorrowful thank-you. And that’s all He wanted. I cried out from a heartful of sorrow in Thank-You and He accepted it. He cherished it, and He bottles my tears. Same as He does yours.
If your heart is full of sorrow, thank Him with that. He’ll take it :)

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

