Posted in Blogging For Books, Book reviews, Books, Reviews

Blogging for Books Review: “Fortress of Mist” by Sigmund Brouwer

Hello!
Here is the most recent book review…I had written it like a week ago, but haven’t been able to post it yet. However here it is now.

Title: Fortress of Mist, 2nd book in Merlin’s Immortals series
Author: Sigmund Brouwer
Review source: Blogging For Books
http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks

My review:
I will be very honest in my review of this book: I really was quite disappointed.
I will allow that I have not read the first book in this series (though I did try; the book wasn’t available in any libraries near me), so maybe had I read the first, it would change some of my opinions, but not all.
I felt like this book never truly ‘got-going’. I kept waiting to feel engrossed in it and just for something to make sense. Unfortunately that never really happened.
However, there were two thing that I did like.
First was that I was impressed/intrigued by Thomas’ battle tactics – the part with the arrows, that is.
And Second, the character, Gervaise has some good qualities and potential. He shows wisdom, but unfortunately, he was not in this book a ton.
I do understand that perhaps the intention of the author is to make it an on-going series, so you need to read all of them, but in my opinion (and keep in mind, all of this really is only *my* opinion) each single book should at least show some sort of clarity for the reader, and encouragement as well. Especially from a Christian author.
Another thing I was not keen on at all was all of the ‘secrets’ involved. That part made me uncomfortable. It all seemed rather ‘dark’, even those who I assume are the ‘good-guys’. There is a fine-line between Fantasy and Sorcery. Anything that gets on that fine-line makes me very uncomfortable. I know sorcery wasn’t necessarily included in this book (I think it is warned against in the book, but not overly clear about that), but there was just a lot of cloaked-darkness I thought, and I didn’t like that.
So yes, I was not really impressed with this book. I was expecting something like “The Knights of Arrethtrae” and it obviously wasn’t that, but even that aside, I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it at this stage.
I would love to hear others thoughts on this book if you have read it as well as the series :)
I also thank Blogging for Books for allowing me to read and review this book!

Note: If you’d like to rate me review, go here: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/view/27045 Thanks! I appreciate it! :)

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

