Posted in Spiritual beliefs

Hid in my heart

A friend (penpal) and I are memorizing Bible verses; she’s doing as a part of “Bible Bee” – Have any of you heard of that? They have one semi near me, but after praying about it, I decided not to join in the actual program, but am memorizing the same verses as my friend. I have really been enjoying this, as whenever my mind wanders, or I am trying to fall asleep, I can replay the verses I’m working on.
Admittedly, I am behind. But I know that the point is not to do it as fast as you can, but that you have them in your heart and mind forever, because they are God’s Words. And isn’t that reason enough? I want to have His word hid in my heart. It is a comforting thing, especially in times of trouble.
I know it can be hard, and we don’t think we have the time for it, but we need to make the time for it, and study His Word, engraving it on the tablet of our hearts, so as not to forget His promises. Find some verses you really like, and then set to work memorizing them – maybe do two a week, and if you think you can manage more, than do! You really won’t regret it. Follow after the Lord’s desire that we keep Him in our hearts “Thy word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against You.” (I’m not sure where that is exactly…Psalms isn’t it? That’s not yet one of the ones I memorized, so I’m not sure!)
Don’t do it as a chore, but as a wish; a desire to please Him, because we love Him.

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

2 thoughts on “Hid in my heart

  1. Yay!! I’m so glad someone has the heart (and the correct attitude! Which is the most important thing!) to memorize! It’s always been a big thing with me. And that verse is from the second part (beth) of Psalm 119, I think. :D But I can never ever remember references. But hey, the important thing is the words. :) I’ll be praying for you as you work on the challenge! :)

    1. Yes, I totally agree that the attitude is important! And you are so smart! I wish I would’ve persevered with you to memorize Psalm 119…someday I should try again! When God wills I suppose.
      Oh I know – references are the hard part I think! Thank you muchly for your prayers!

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

