Posted in Blades, Pictures, Questions/answers

Narnia, or Lord of the Rings?

What say you?

Yes!! This is my cloak…and bum..bum…bum…my new SWORD! Isn’t it astonishing? That’s what I was waiting to post about with my cloak, because it is just so awesome. More on the sword later.

Anyway, to come back around to my title – I’ve been wearing my cloak every where pretty much, and that includes church. Last Sunday I got so many comments on it. “What are you?” “Are you from Lord of the Rings?” “Are you part Elven or something?” “Are you Lucy from Narnia?”  Make up your minds people! Which is it, LotR or Narnia? In all actuality it’s not really either. I am just me. Raechel. Who is actually now officially a Lady:

That is what the blade says.  I love it.  I can finally be a Knight. Whaat.

(Have you ever seen the show ‘Jane and the Dragon”? It’s on tv, channel qubo? Well we altered the song to fit me: “There once was a Lady in waiting…Let’s call her Rae…that girl wasn’t ordinary!…No way for me, a lady stuck in waiting, I’d rather battling fire-breathing dragons. I knew I could prove that a girl could be a Knight, but my friends all laughed at. But I wouldn’t be defeated, and I trained in secret, met a firebreathing dragon, and everone was freakin’ so I went alone to the dragons home…to slay the dragon….Hey now, hey now now, Rae & the dragon are best friends now…” okay, I think you get the point now ;) )

This above photo kind of shows it’s length and whatnot.

My cloak w/o the hood up

This above photo is the cloak w/o the hood up (obviously).

My cloak was finished…November…22nd I think…the day before (actually the night before) we left for Duluth for Thanksgiving. I really love it, and it’s quite warm. The outside is green as I’m sure you can tell, with gold specks sort of, that shimmers when I walk. And the green is the same colour of my eyes, to that’s a major bonus ;) The inside is purple. Why purple? Well, at first I wasn’t going to do a lining. Then we decided it’d be best. What colour did I want though? Well, I liked how maroon looked inside the green, so we were gonna get some maroon coloured dye (we had white fabric already from something else) and dye the white fabric. But when we bought it, and tried it the fabric came out pink…and it honestly didn’t look the greatest (thankfully we only dyed the hood that colour, which we didn’t end up using anyway) and so we were gonna come up with something else. How about black? Black it is. But the dye wasn’t very strong, and since we had a lot of fabric it didn’t really dye black, but rather purple. So we just stuck with that. And it turned out nicely, I think. I am very happy with it.

Here, in this following photo you can kind of see how the cloak matches my eyes:

And the pommel of the sword reads: “The King reigns and His Son” because it is…a Knights of Arrethtrae Sword which makes it even better! Those are some of the best books ever. I adore that series, and was thrilled to find out they offered real swords. This sword was a bit more expensive then the original one I was going to get on the KOA site, but this was is also supposedly significantly better quality. (Inside joke there…) And so in honour of this significantly good quality sword, it’s name shall be…Significantly! Woohoo!

Oh and because this is semi similar to this topic, yesterday morning I was listening to some of the music from How to Train Your Dragon (ahhhh. I do so love that movie) and I found this site where a guy was offering the piano music for some of the songs for free! I printed one of them off, because I have high hopes that Noah will be able to play it someday. (She’s learning piano, to those of you who don’t know).

Alrighty then. There is my uberly exciting news!!! I am so in love with my sword, as well as my cloak, and of course Toothless. I will always love him.

Author:

I am a 21 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

10 thoughts on “Narnia, or Lord of the Rings?

  1. RAECHEL, RAECHEL, RAECHEL, RAECHEL, RAECHEL!!!!!!!! IT’S SO EPIC!!!!! Both your cloak and your sword! I LOVE THEM!!!! :D I want a sword SO BAD now! I’ll have to e-mail you these pictures that I took at a museum in Washington D.C. of some of the coolest knives and swords I think I’ve ever seen! They were quite awesome!

    Your sword is BEAUTIFUL!!! :D As is your cloak! It DOES match your eyes, which is quite loverly! :D

    I LOVE THAT NAME!!! :D lol! :D

  2. I know, isn’t it amazing?! I seriously am so excited about it!! I’ve wanted it for so long, and I knew that God would provide it, and He has! He is SO good <3
    Oh yes you certainly will! I ludge blades :D
    David says he wants to get one now too, because then we could sword fight together. Hehe :P
    Dallas just shook her head. ^.^
    Yes, it is beautiful. I agree to the fullest. You should've saw me yesterday when it arrived, and actually the rest of the day…oh goodness! I have a sword :)

  3. “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”! :D :)

    LOL! That sounds so much like something that David would say! Isn’t it funny how I can say things like that never having met him? :) Or have I…? lol! :)

    I shall e-mail those to you once I put them onto my computer! I’m actually at church right now (getting ready to do PowerPoint) so… yeah…. I’m listening to Christian (our pianist/guitarist) play piano at the moment and am dying…. I hope I can play that well some day!
    Speaking of pianos, I love the fact that you found sheet music for “How to Train Your Dragon”!! :D

    I can imagine what you were like yesterday…. Bouncing off the walls, squealing etc. etc. That’s what I would’ve been doing anyways… How ‘spensive was your sword??

    1. ‘Tis true!

      Have you indeed! I don’t think so. ;)

      Otey-dotey, sounds wunderbar, danke. Oh I know. Whenever I hear pianist playing – or anyone who plays anything well – I ‘die’. I wish I could play something well…oh vell. Such is life.

      Well, not quite – I’m not much of a bouncer or squealer, but I was extremely stoked and it was showing in my own way of course :D
      I realized today, that I am a ‘awkward’ talker. i.e I don’t talk to people well usually…:D
      And the sword was $90 by itself, to have the name etched on was a extra $12.95 and I’m not sure how much shipping is – maybe around $10 or so. We got free shipping because of the time of year. :) So it’s pretty expensive, but not too terribly so.

  4. You’d freak my Mom out. Actually, I think your last letter did.

    But I love you. lol I love your “oddness”. It’s very attractive, to me. Even if it isn’t my style. I just love people who are themselves.

    Keep being yourself. You are lovely that way.

    ((hugs))

    1. Haha! Refresh me – what was in my last letter? I think I was talking about my tomahawk, no? :D Tell her no to worry – many are freaked out by me! And that is okay :P

      Well thank you! That’s very sweet of you :) Ditto – people who are themselves are the most attractive! I love it too.

      *Hugs you back* :D

      1. Yes, that & your swords… and how your outfit wasn’t complete without your knives… Mom was “freaked” by that. LOL I didn’t bother trying to explained~ I was just amused. :P

        Welcome! :D

    1. It IS way too cool, I totally agree!!
      You can find them on their site: http://perfect-praise.com/

      And seriously, it is a wonderful sword. The sheath is very good, but the strap would need to be changed if you ever were to wear it (for any reason) because the one they have is really thin, and couldn’t possibly hold the weight of the sword.

      Have you read all of the KOA and the Kingdom Series? I’ve read the KOA series multiple times, but haven’t read the KS yet. I do own most of those too though.

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

