Posted in Uncategorized

Elk River

‘Twas Friday, the 23rd, and we were not to be found at home. *eerie music* K, not really. I’ll try to be serious for once.
Friday, my family and I went…up (it’s not straight up, it’s more northwest) to Elk River to a Rendezvous historical reenactment type thing with Toby and his family. It was similar to the Stockade here. There were tents set up (Like old-fashioned tents, ya know…) where people camped, and sold things. They were dressed up and all. It was pretty fun :) The thing we probably all spent the most time around was either the Blacksmith one, watching the two dudes make tomahawk heads and stuff, or at the knife-throwing log. That was real fun. Like real real fun. I hadn’t thrown my knife in a while before that, because it had broke, and even though I got a second one, I hadn’t chanced throwing it yet. But I did there, and it stuck all but one time that I threw it. Toby so graciously let me throw his tomahawk a couple times as well. That was also very nice. I think it only stuck…once though…
There was one tent, with this one guy who was trying to get us all to try the pickled eggs. Most of ‘us’ did I believe. I certainly didn’t. They looked, and most likely smelled and tasted nasty. I give everyone who tried it credit. I wouldn’t do it.
I’d probably have pictures to share, except I forgot my camera at home. Yes, that happens a lot. My camera isn’t #1 on my grab-list I guess…Oh well. Sorry, no photos.
There were about…12 tents I think…going by memory here, so could be wrong. But I believe that was about it. And then one came late and sent up too.
While watching the blacksmiths, Dad decided we need a forge. And an anvil. I’d like that too, but Dad, where are we going to get those? :D
We were there from a little after noon, till almost 4:00pm I think. It was enjoyable, to be sure. My personal favourite part was throwing the knives, even if I only did it a few times. It is greatly and immensely grand. Something I definitely enjoy. There’s just something about it. When the blade hits the wood, it’s almost as if you can feel it right from leaving your hand. I don’t know how to explain it, but it’s splendid.
When we left, we (my family) first ran to the Walmart there for a bathroom break (I really had to pee, just in case you all were wondering ;) ) and get some water (I again, was very thristy. My throat was dry.) When we finally tried to get out of Elk River, we had a wee bit of trouble. The roads were all changed and whatnot, since the last either one of my parents had driven up there. I don’t think we left E.R. until like 45 minutes later! We did make it home though! ;) Oh and I didn’t get to see any Elk. Very disappointing. ;)

Author:

I am a 22 year old homeschool graduate who is passionately in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I love writing, reading, knife/tomahawk-throwing, and letter-writing, among other things. :)

Say Hello! Leave a Comment :)

